Skip to main content

Holy shit, my sister's a high school grad!

My sister graduated from high school yesterday. (Hover mouse over pictures for captions!)

We decorated our cars! We also wrote on Diego (the explorer) but it was unavailable for photos this afternoon. And Dora (the [other] explorer) was being inspected, so she didn't get painted. This car is my future car (I'm not even joking!) the Jimmy (AKA an '80s SUV).


My future car, again...

I'm surprised I didn't cry. But it was a momentous occasion. I am so proud of my sister! I was delegated to taking pictures. Here are the ones on my camera.

Outside the Forum...how pretty!


One of those is for my sista!


The Forum ceiling. That place was gorgeous.


My dad's tie...he had to have school colors, of course!


Her name's about to be called...


Devyn shaking Mr. Hruz's hand after getting her 'ploma.


They seem to do a LOT of walking at graduation. Thank god we didn't. I was wearing HEELS! Well, Devyn was wearing bigger heels, but she walks better in them than I do.


I know Devyn, the program did drag.

Afterwards we went out for dinner with our entire family. "Hello! Smith, party of 27!!" We were at the restaurant until 11:30. I didn't get home until midnight. [My last name is not Smith, but we did have a party of 27. It took up the entire room!]

The flag that my mother has been waiting four years to put up...and then INSISTED that we leave it up all month...


What I like to call (The Ghost of Senior Past). Devyn hung her gown on the chandelier in the foyer. It scared me a couple times today.

I dunno really how to react to the fact that next year [when I am a junior] my sister will be a freshman at Penn State Harrisburg [she's going to be a labor & delivery nurse]. It still hasn't hit me yet that Devyn is OFFICIALLY done with her formal schooling. Tonight she's staying over at her boyfriend's house, and it feels like she's away. And let me tell ya, it seems as if there is no one around to KEEP THE PEACE!
My mother, my sisters, and even my dad and I are ALL arguing more than usual. Everyone's snappy, mean, and uneasy. Thank GOD she's not moving out yet. I thought I was going to bawl for this, but when she moves out--ugh, I don't even wanna think about it. I'll probably have a anxious breakdown or something.

Like I said, I'm proud of Devyn. Love ya sista!

Comments

SalGal said…
Congrats to your sis! I loved my L&D nurses. I think that will be a great career!

And now you'll get to rule the roost!

Popular posts from this blog

Kick some serious ass, and don't forget to take names

Holy shiza. I can't believe we did that. I won't keep you in suspense...but today...(Dramatic pause)...I quit fastpitch softball. I'll start at the beginning. Yesterday we had our first official slowpitch game (aka for my father's team). I went, because honestly--how can you not go to your own father's game? Not to mention, the fastpitch game was a make-up that we didn't know about until last week. So we--my older sister Devyn, a friend of mine named Ashley--went to our slowpitch game. After all, my dad needed us and we would've had to forfeit if we didn't have enough girls to play. So we sort of ditched the fastpitch game. But it was NBD, seriously. Ashley NEVER plays in a fastpitch game. She sits the bench EVERY game, yet shows up for every practice, all the time. So naturally she's going to go to the game where she gets a chance to play, and not to mention she's good at it. My sister, on the other hand, is a senior. She's paid her dues. S...

YOUR 2008 NL EAST CHAMPIONS ARE...

Yaaaaayyy...my Phillies are the NL East champions once again! Last Year: This Year: w00t!

Just another Monday

I took some pictures today, figuring I knew that I wouldn't feel up to posting something gigantic. And I'm not. We had another softball game this afternoon, and even though I played for about...3½ minutes, I'm still wiped from having to spend the entire game on my feet (and add that up to my day and school, and it's cause for exhaustion). My 3½ minutes in the spotlight was when my coach decided that we were losing bad enough (We lost 17-10 or something like that) that it wouldn't do any harm to put the Junior Varsity Princess (aka moi, if you're that thick) into the game. The batter's box, to be precise. I guess I wasn't good enough to defend the field. :( Whatever. So, I must've been a lot more nervous than I thought I was, because everyone kept telling me to relax. I didn't feel nervous, but when I struck out (I went down swingin', ya bastards!) and returned to the dugout, I realized that my hands were shaking. Well, here are the pictures.....